top of page

New Year: New or Old Ways


Are you looking forward to the New Year? I hope so… but… I also hope you have New Ways! Explain yourself Pastor. Okay, I will.

Many times, we get stuck in our daily routines ending up feeling we are not getting anywhere. We call this the “grind of life.” We just grind out another day, in the same old way, hoping we get a break (and by the way, we all need a break, seriously!) So, here is your break for 2018. Allow me to begin with Romans 12:1-2;

Therefore, I urge you, brethren, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies a living and holy sacrifice, acceptable to God, which is your spiritual service of worship. (2) And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.

The apostle Paul is telling us… dear brothers and sisters, I plead with you to give your bodies to God because of all He has done for you. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice—the kind He will find acceptable.

Might I add, this is truly the way to worship God. Don't copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God's will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.

Will you join me in forming new habits for the new year? I have outlined the process from scripture below;

  1. The Reality of Your Commitment (Romans 12:1-2)

  2. The Estimation of Yourself (Romans 12:3)

  3. The Functions of Your Church (Romans 12:4-5)

  4. The Exercise of Your Gifts (Romans 12:6-8)

Feel free to read the scriptures ahead, but we will be taking one part each week during the new year to come. I began the first one just a little but will say more next week. God bless and let’s have the best year ever coming up!

Love to all,

Pastor Mike

bottom of page